On Dec. 15, a Pennsylvania man who was shot by police in November stated that he fully cooperated with the authorities after he was allegedly caught selling drugs. Authorities reportedly shot the man after he was accused of attempting to flee the police following a controlled drug sale.
Pennsylvania DUI law classifies differnet DUi cases into one of three tiers. The following is the sentencing information regarding each tier for first offenses
Pennsylvania classifies DUI charges into three separate tiers. It is important to know which tier someone charged with DUI is in, because that tier (along with number of prior offenses within 10 years) dictates what potential minimum and maximum sentences he could face.
prior to the passage of a new law, individuals whose license has been suspended for 12 or 18 months due to a DUI, had to serve the entire duration of that suspension prior to driving. As stated in other blogs, anyone who is convicted of driving while the license suspended due to DUI conviction can face mandatory time in prison.
The state of Pennsylvania tends to be aggressive in its investigation and prosecution in drug situations, and the related penalties are a significant source of revenue. Conviction of drug crimes can result in serious penalties including jail time, fines, and an impact on your reputation. Your ability to work may be hindered due to these penalties, potentially leading to job loss and economic consequences beyond that of the fines.
Pennsylvania law currently allows for the imposition of death as a penalty for first degree homicide cases. In order for that penalty to be imposed, the attorney for the Commonwealth must not only prove that a person is guilty of homicide beyond a reasonable doubt, but in a separate proceeding, must also prove the existance of at least one statutory aggravating factor is present.
Under Pennsylvania law, people who have been convicted of certain offenses may petition the court to have their criminal record expunged. Expungement is a lengthy process that begins with the petitioner filing a petition for expungement. Once this petition is filed, the attorney for the Commonwealth has the opportunity to file either a consent or objection to the petition. After the attorney for the Commonwealth has had an opportunity to consent or object to the petition, the judge has 14 days to either grant or deny the petition or to schedule a hearing on the petition. Promptly after the hearing, the judge shall make a formal decision either granting or denying the petition.
Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) maintains a driving record for every licensed driver in Pennsylvania. Certain traffic (or moving) violations can add points to a person's driving record. This blog will deal with the specific consequences when the accumulation of points reaches a given threshold.