In Pennsylvania, there are three levels for a charge of driving under the influences of alcohol or drugs. These levels are based on blood alcohol content. They are:
-- General impairment: This level is for those who have a BAC of .08 to .099 percent. This charge is a misdemeanor for those who are facing a DUI for the first time. The penalties can include a $300 fine and a probation term of up to six months.
-- High BAC: This level is for those who have a BAC of .1 to .159. For those who are convicted, the fines can be substantial -- between $750 and $5,000. In addition, convicted persons will also face a jail sentence of 30 days to six months. They will also lose their driving privileges for 12 months. These penalties are for someone's second offense.
-- Highest BAC: This level is for those who have a BAC of .16 or higher. A conviction means at least 1 year in jail, but it could go up to two years. Fines are a minimum of $2,500. A 18-month driver's license suspension is also handed down, but it could be higher. These penalties are for someone's third offense.
For drivers under 21, Pennsylvania has a Zero Tolerance Law. If someone under 21 drives after consuming any amount of alcohol, is arrested for DUI and convicted, he or she will face two days to six months in jail, a fine of $500 to $5,000 and his or her driver's license will be suspended for a year. This is all for a first-time offense.
The laws regarding DUI are somewhat complex in Pennsylvania, so it's important that you understand exactly what is at stake. At The Kelly Law Firm, we will provide answers to your DUI questions and work diligently to mitigate the potential penalties.