In Pennsylvania Criminal Defense, it is a crime of Underage Drinking for anyone under the age of 21 to consume, possess, purchase, or transport alcohol. This crime of Underage Drinking is known as purchase, consumption, possession or transportation of liquor or malt or brewed beverages, commonly referred to as underage drinking in Criminal Defense cases. Criminal Defense Criminal Mischief According to the Pennsylvania Crimes Code, a person commits this crime if he, being less than 21 years of age, attempts to purchase, purchases, consumes, possess or knowingly and intentionally transports any liquor or malt or brewed beverages. Whether you are drinking alcohol or have it on your person, if you are under the age of 21 it is illegal. If you are a minor and you are arrested on underage charges, the police department who arrested you is required by law to notify your parents or guardians of the charges. If you commit purchase, consumption, possession or transportation of liquor or malt or brewed beverages, you are committing a summary offense. If you are found guilty, you may be sentenced to pay a fine of up to $500 for your first violation and up to $1,000 for the second and each subsequent violation. In addition to fines, you will also lose your driver's license. For the first offense, you will lose your operating privilege for a period of 90 days. For the second offense, you will lose your operating privilege for a period of one year. For the third offense, you will lose your operating privilege for a period of two years. There are some exceptions to this statute that protect you from being charged with this crime under certain circumstances.
Certain circumstances allow you to be immune from prosecution for consumption or possession of alcoholic beverages. Driving Under the Influence Marijuana One of the exceptions to the statute is if you are a person seeking medical attention for another. According to the PA Crimes Code, a person is immune from prosecution for consumption or possession if he can establish that the only way law enforcement officers became aware of the person's violation is because the person placed a 911 call, or a call to the campus safety, police or emergency services, in good faith, based on a reasonable belief and reported that another person was in need of immediate medical attention to prevent death or serious injury; the person reasonably believed he was the first to make a 911 call or emergency services, and report that a person needed medical attention to prevent death or serious injury; the person provided his own name to the 911 operator or emergency responders; or the person remained with the person needing medical assistance until emergency health care providers arrived and the need for his presence had ended. It is important to remember this exception to the statute in order to avoid alcohol related deaths that could have been prevented. If you find yourself facing underage drinking charges, it is best to consult with a criminal defense attorney. A criminal defense attorney will be able to establish the facts of your case and produce the best possible outcome for you.