In Pennsylvania, car accidents are a common occurrence that happen daily. Unfortunately, traffic offenses accidents involving death or personal injury are very serious. Sometimes car accidents result in death or personal injury for one or more of the people involved. According to title 75 section 3742(a), if the driver does not stop, then traffic offenses accidents involving death or personal injury may be charged. Under the statute, the driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury or death of any person shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close thereto as possible but aggravated assault while DUI shall then forthwith return to and in every event shall remain at the scene of the accident until he has fulfilled the requirements of section 3744 (relating to duty to give information and render aid). Every stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary. Any person violating this section commits a misdemeanor of the first degree. If you are found guilty, you could face a possible penalty of up to five years imprisonment and/or fines up to $10,000.
In Pennsylvania, it is a traffic offense when overtaking a school bus. It is against the law to not stop as you approach a school bus with their red signals flashing. This traffic offense is known as meeting or overtaking school bus. Meeting or overtaking a school bus is one of the most serious traffic offenses in Pennsylvania. DUI basics A person commits meeting or overtaking a school bus if the person is a driver of a vehicle meeting or overtaking any school bus stopped on a highway or trafficway fails to stop at least ten feet before reaching the school bus when the red signal lights on the school bus are flashing and the side stop signal arms are activated. The driver of a vehicle approaching an intersection at which a school bus is stopped shall stop his vehicle at the intersection until the flashing red signal lights are no longer actuated. In addition, the driver shall not proceed until the school children who may have alighted from the school bus have reached a place of safety. The driver of a vehicle must stop when approaching an intersection in which a school bus is stopped until the school bus has turned off its flashing red signals. If the flashing lights are amber and not red, the driver may cautiously proceed and be prepared to stop.
In Pennsylvania, it is a traffic offense unless you are in possession of a driver's license when you operate a motor vehicle. If you are a licensed driver, it is required that you carry your license on you at all times while operating a motor vehicle. DUI PBT tests According to Title 75 section 1511 of the crimes code, it is a traffic offense even if you are in possession of a driver's license, if the driver does not exhibit the license upon demand to a police officer when requested by the police officer. There are a couple different steps that can be taken in order to avoid penalty if you are caught driving without your license on you. In order to avoid penalty, you can bring your valid driver's license to the headquarters of the police officer who demanded to see the license within 15 days of the demand. If a citation has been filed, you can avoid penalty by producing your valid driver's license at the office of the issuing authority within 15 days of the filing of the citation. Failure to do so will result in charges for driving without a license.