Sex Crimes are very serious crimes that an individual can face in the state of Pennsylvania. A conviction for a Sex Crime will almost certainly mean that an accused will have to register as a sex offender pursuant to Megan’s Law. Megan’s Law Additionally, many sex crimes in the state of Pennsylvania are felonies and require lengthy periods of incarceration in state prison. If you are being investigated for or have been charged with a sex crime in Pennsylvania, you should strongly consider hiring a Sex Crime Lawyer right away.
In the state of Pennsylvania, adults and juveniles (individuals under the age of 18) can be charged with Sex Crimes. In fact, Pennsylvania has a statute that is applicable only to minors. Pursuant to 18 Pa. C.S 6321, a minor can be charged with a crime if he sends or transmits a sexually explicit image to another minor. Child Pornography Specifically, under that statute, a minor commits a crime when he:
(1) Knowingly sends a text or e-mail containing a sexually explicit image of himself.
(2) Possesses or views a sexually explicit image of a minor who is 12 years of age or older.
Additionally, a juvenile also commits a crime (albeit a more serious one), if he sends or e-mails a sexually explicit image of another minor who is 12 years of age or older. If the juvenile sends an explicit image of another juvenile, without that juvenile’s knowledge and consent, to others with the intent of harassing or causing emotional distress to another minor, the minor then he commits a misdemeanor of the second degree.
The main thing to note from this statute is that your son or daughter can get into serious legal trouble for sending inappropriate text messages or e-mails which depict his or her friends in the nude. If the police or another law enforcement agency ask for your consent to view your son or daughter’s cell phone, you should strongly consider consulting with an experienced Sex Crime’s attorney immediately.