Sex Crimes are very serious charges in the state of Pennsylvania. However, very few people know just how serious Sex Crime convictions can be. In addition to Megan’s Law requirements, a conviction of certain sex crimes Sex Crime Charges can mean that an accused will be facing a 25 year minimum mandatory state prison sentence. In fact, under current Pennsylvania law, a conviction of some sex crime can even mean a prison sentence of life in prison. You should strongly consider reaching out to an experienced Chester County Sex Crime lawyer, if you are being investigated for or have been charged with a Sex Crime in the state of Pennsylvania.
On December 20, 2012, the following statute was adopted by the state of Pennsylvania. According to 42 Pa.C.S.A. Section 9718, any person that is convicted in a Pennsylvania court of a sex crime such as: Indecent Assault, Rape, possession of Child Pornography, Stalking, aggravated indecent assault etc, shall, if at the time he committed the current offense had previously been convicted of another sex crime, be sentenced to a minimum sentence of at least 25 years of total confinement.
Accordingly, if you have previously been convicted of a sex crime Sex Crime Lawyers which required you to register as a sex offender under Megan’s law, you could be facing a minimum mandatory 25 years in state prison if you are convicted of another sex crime in the state of Pennsylvania. This is true even if you are charged with a misdemeanor sex crime. The statute does not distinguish between misdemeanor and felony convictions. Also according to this statute, a third conviction of a Pennsylvania sex crime requires that an accused spend the rest of his life in prison if he is convicted. The stakes of a sex crime conviction just got a lot higher in the state of Pennsylvania. Don’t spend the rest of your life in state prison. Contact an experienced Chester County Sex Crimes attorney today.