The Sex Crimes laws in Pennsylvania dealing with the registration for sex offenders is fairly complex. The Sex Crimes laws in Pennsylvania deal with two various aspects. First, the registration for sex offenders who are convicted of certain sex crimes. And second, the penalties for individuals who violate these registration laws after they have been placed on probation or parole. Child Pornography Criminal Defendants who are convicted of certain Sex Crimes are required to Register as Sex Offenders in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Title 42 of PA Code section 9718.4 deals with the various punishments that exist for Sex Crime offenders who either do not register or do not update their information with law enforcement when it changes.
There are various minimum mandatory sentences under section 9718.4 of Title 42 for Sex offenders that fail to comply with the laws pertaining to the registration of sexual offenders. Aggravated Indecent Assault The Mandatory sentences are explained below:
(1) Sentencing upon conviction for a first offense of failure to register as a sex offender is that an accused shall serve not less than two years in prison for an individual who:
is subject to section 9799.13 (relating to applicability) and must register for a period of 15 years and violated 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1(a)(1) or (2) (relating to failure to comply with registration requirements).
Additionally, an accused shall serve not less than three years in state prison when the accused is subject to section 9799.13 and must register for a period of 25 years or life under section 9799.15 or a similar provision from another jurisdiction; and violated 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1(a)(1) or (2).
Finally, an accused must serve not less than five years in state prison if he is subject to section 9799.13 and must register for a period of 15 or 25 years or life under section 9799.15 and violated 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1(a)(1) or (2) and had a prior conviction under this statute.