Statutory sexual assault is one of the most serious Sex Crimes offenses that an individual can be charged with in Pennsylvania. Not only do Sex Crimes charges such as Statutory Sexual Assault carry a Megan’s Law requirement, but they also have very strict penalties. In the state of Pennsylvania, the age of consent regarding sex is 16. If someone is under the age of 16, they are considered legally unable to make a decision regarding sexual conduct. CYS Investigations  It does not matter whether or not the relationship was consensual in order for someone to be charged with statutory sexual assault. There are several different outcomes that someone could face when being charged with statutory sexual assault.

​The penalties for statutory sexual assault are serious and could have long term effects. Under PA state law, statutory sexual assault is a felony of the second degree when that person engages in sexual intercourse with a complainant to whom the person is not married who is under the age of 16 years and the person is either four years older but less than eight years older than the complainant or eight years older but less than 11 years older than the complainant. A person commits a felony of the first degree when that person engages in sexual intercourse with a complainant under the age of 16 years and that person is 11 or more years older than the complainant and the complainant and the person are not married to each other.  Corruption of Minors Both counts of statutory sexual assault also carry a possible fine of $25,000. Penalties are severe, but the help of an attorney will assure the best possible outcome. Make sure to contact an experienced Chester County Sexual Assault attorney if you are being investigated for or have been charged with the crime of Statutory Sexual Assault.