There is a lot of debate nationwide about the status of marijuana. Just to be crystal clear, marijuana is still a controlled substance classified as a Schedule I drug, which means that it has no legally accepted benefits and is fully outlawed on a federal level.
Even though some other states have decriminalized the drug, Pennsylvania still has marijuana laws on the books. This means that if you are caught with the drug or selling it, you can face legal consequences.
The penalties for selling marijuana are more serious than the penalties for possession. Selling the drug is a felony, but possession is a misdemeanor.
For possession, you are facing anywhere from 30 days to three years, depending on how much you have on you and whether you have any prior convictions for this or not. You are also facing fines for a conviction.
For drug sales of marijuana, you can face up to 10 years. If the sale was to a minor, you will face double the penalties. The fines in these cases are very serious because the court can require that you repay the equivalent to the profits you made from selling the drug, as well as issuing a fine.
As you can see, these are some pretty serious penalties for marijuana. You must consider these when you are trying to come up with your defense. Ideally, your defense strategy will address the points being used against you. In some cases, you might be able to work out an alternative sentence, such as drug court or probation.
Source: FindLaw, “Pennsylvania Marijuana Laws,” accessed Sep. 01, 2017