Many people believe college is the best time in your life. During your first time away from your parents, you can explore new freedoms, prepare for a successful career and develop lifelong friendships. But sometimes, having fun can get you in trouble.
You probably already know the legal drinking age in Pennsylvania is 21. And while you could face penalties for getting caught drinking and driving under the influence (DUI), charges for underage drivers can hold serious implications. A DUI could put both your driver’s license and college career at risk.
You could face serious penalties
Penalties for underage drivers are severe in Pennsylvania. The Commonwealth’s Zero Tolerance Law could cost you dearly for driving with any amount of alcohol in your blood. Also, be mindful that drug-impairment can also factor into your charges.
You might have many questions if you are face DUI charges, such as:
- Will I lose my license?
- Do I have to go to jail?
- Am I going to kicked out of school?
- Is my insurance going to increase?
- How much is this going to cost?
These are all valid concerns. The answers will vary depending on the specifics of your case.
For an underage DUI conviction, you could be looking at license suspension for up to 18 months and up to six months in jail. Your fines could potentially reach $5,000.
Rather than drinking and driving, it may be wise to consider the potential consequences you could face for doing so.