In Pennsylvania, it is a crime to physically assault another person. There are several different statutes in PA that prosecute Violent Crimes like Simple Assault. Violent Crimes such as Simple Assault make it illegal to physically harm someone. One of the statutes is known as simple assault. Per the Pennsylvania crimes code, section 2701(a2), a person commits simple assault if he negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon. Assault crimesTo be guilty of simple assault, the bodily injury you cause another using a deadly weapon does not have to be intentional. Per section 2701(a3) of the Pennsylvania crimes code, a person commits simple assault if he attempts by physical menace to put another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury. Even if you do not carry out the act of physically harming another person, it is still a crime to use physical means to make someone fear serious injury.
Simple assault is a crime that is taken seriously and carries strict penalties for those who commit it. If you commit simple assault, you are committing a misdemeanor of the second degree. If you are found guilty, you could face up to two years imprisonment and/or fines up to $5,000. If your simple assault charges resulted from a fight or a scuffle that you entered by mutual consent, you are committing a misdemeanor of the third degree. Defenses in HomicidesIf you are found guilty, you could face up to one year imprisonment and/or fines up to $1,000. If you are over the age of 18 and the victim is under 12 years of age, you are committing a misdemeanor of the first degree. If you are found guilty, you face a possible penalty of up to five years imprisonment and/or fines up to $10,000. If you find yourself facing simple assault charges, it is important to meet with a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. A criminal defense attorney will be able to look at the facts of your case and determine what course of action must be taken to ensure the best possible outcome for your case.