Although not specifically considered in the violent crimes category, making a false statement with the purchase of a firearm can be very serious. murder In the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, like all other states, in order to purchase a firearm a federal background check must be completed to ensure that the buyer is allowed to own and operate a firearm. In addition to the background check, there is also a 48-hour holding period where the buyer of the firearm must wait 48 hours before he can receive their firearm. This is to ensure that the background check is complete. The most common reason for not being able to purchase a firearm would be due to a felony conviction on your criminal record. However, in some cases buyers and sellers will illegally make false statements on their application about certain factors such as misreporting the individual's past criminal record, in order to ensure that the sale is made.
The Pennsylvania Crimes code deals with Violent Crimes and specifically the charge of Persons not to possess or use firearms. The second amendment of the United States constitution guarantees the right of all citizens to keep and bear arms. However, there is a population of individuals who have had that right revoked due to certain circumstances. Murder Those aforementioned are individuals who have committed a serious violation of law, namely an offense that rises to the degree of a felony. In addition to felons, there are a number of other populations that are prohibited from having anything to do with firearms. These include fugitives, those who are adjudicated as incompetent, anyone involuntary committed to a mental institution along with those dishonorably discharged from service. Every state has some version of a statute from prohibiting certain populations from the possession, use, manufacture, control, sell or transfer of firearms. In the Commonwealth of Pa that statute is section 6105 of the Pa criminal code.
One of the more serious violent crimes that an individual can be charged with is the crime of Possessing or transferring a firearm by a convicted felon. This crime can be found under Title 18 section 6105 of the Pennsylvania Crimes Code. The statute specifically states that a person who has been convicted of an offense enumerated in subsection (b), (the statute lists a litany of violent and non-violent offenses ranging from burglary to robbery) learn about violent crimes here within or without the state of Pennsylvania, regardless of the length of sentence, shall not possess, use, control, sell, transfer or manufacture or obtain a license to possess a firearm in the state of Pennsylvania