Statutory Sexual Assault is a very serious Sex Crimes charge. It is graded generally as a Felony of the second degree therefore punishable by a maximum of ten years in prison and a $15,000 fine. Now Statutory Sexual Assault may also be graded as a felony of the first degree if the defendant engages in sexual intercourse with a person is under the age of 16 and there is more than 11 years difference in their age. Child Pornography A Felony of the first degree is punishable by 20 years in state prison and a $20,000 fine. Statutory Sexual Assault used to be called Statutory Rape in the Pennsylvania Crimes Code, however that was later changed. Additionally, a conviction for this crime does not necessarily trigger a SORNA or Megan's Law requirement. An individual convicted for this crime only must comply with Megan's Law if there was more than an 8 year difference in age between the defendant and the alleged victim.
Statutory sexual assault is one of the most serious Sex Crimes offenses that an individual can be charged with in Pennsylvania. Not only do Sex Crimes charges such as Statutory Sexual Assault carry a Megan's Law requirement, but they also have very strict penalties. In the state of Pennsylvania, the age of consent regarding sex is 16. If someone is under the age of 16, they are considered legally unable to make a decision regarding sexual conduct. CYS Investigations It does not matter whether or not the relationship was consensual in order for someone to be charged with statutory sexual assault. There are several different outcomes that someone could face when being charged with statutory sexual assault.
Typically, Mistake as to Age of an alleged victim is not a defense in Pennsylvania in sex charges. Defenses to Corruption of Minors Charge For instance, mistake of age is not a defense if you are charged with Statutory Rape, however it is a defense in a Corruption of Minors charge, so long as the alleged victim is at least 16 years of age.