The National Trial Lawyers | Top 100 Trial Lawyers AVVO Rating 10.0 Superb | Top Attorney Criminal Defense 10 Best 2014-2016 | 3 Years | Client Satisfaction | American Institute of Criminal Law Attorneys WHO'S WHO | Top Professional | Certified 2017 top 100 lawyer ASLA 10 best 2016 client satisfaction| American Institute of personal injury Attorneys
The Kelly Law Firm Law Offices of Kelly & Conte
Call Anytime - Day or Night
610-314-7066 610-314-7066
The National Trial Lawyers | Top 100 Trial Lawyers
AVVO Rating 10.0 Superb | Top Attorney Criminal Defense
Nation's Premier | NACDA | Top Ten Ranking 2014
10 Best 2014 | Client Satisfaction Award | American Institute of Criminal Law Attorneys

Violent crimes: Firearms not to be carried without a license

In regards t violent crimes in the state of Pennsylvania, people may only possess a firearm which is concealed on his or her person or in his or her vehicle if they are licensed to carry a firearm in the Commonwealth. Violent Crime Attorneys  This crime can be found Under Title 18 section 6106 of the Pennsylvania Crimes Code. It is imperative that you hire an experienced Chester County Violent Crimes Attorney if you have been charged or are being investigated for this crime.

Section 6106 specifically states that a person may only carry a firearm concealed on his person or in his car if he is properly licensed in Pennsylvania. Possession of a Firearm by a felon  An exception to this rule is that an individual may possess his firearm where he lives or where he works so long as his place of business is fixed. Exceptions to this rule are if an individual is a Constables, sheriffs, prison or jail wardens, or law-enforcement officers, members of the armed services, someone engaged in target shooting with a firearm, certain government agents, any person engaged in the business of manufacturing, repairing, or dealing in firearms, any person while carrying a firearm which is not loaded and is in a secure wrapper from the place of purchase to his home or place of business, persons licensed to hunt, etc.

A violation of this section is a serious offense. It is generally graded as a felony of the third degree and therefore punishable up to seven years in state prison and a $15,000 fine. However, if the accused is otherwise eligible to possess a valid license but does not have one, then he is guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree which is punishable up to 5 years in state prison and a $10,000 fine.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Why We Succeed


We prepare every case as if it is going to trial. Our reputation for thorough preparation puts us in a much stronger negotiating position with prosecutors and opposing counsel.

See what our clients are saying...


For more than 15 years, people throughout Chester County and the surrounding area have turned to Law Offices of Kelly & Conte for sound legal advice and aggressive representation.

Learn more about our team...


We will not accept a deal simply for the sake of closing your case. We care about your future, and we pursue every available option in an effort to secure the best possible outcome.

View our case results...
Schedule a Case Evaluation

Schedule a Free Case Evaluation

Bold labels are required.

Please note that First AND/OR Last Name, and Email AND/OR Phone are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Law Offices of Kelly & Conte
213 W Miner Street #3
West Chester, PA 19382

Phone: 610-314-7066
Fax: 610-436-0628
West Chester Law Office Map

Review Us
Back to Top