In Pennsylvania, it is not uncommon for people to possess a fake ID. People can be charged and will need a Criminal Defense for False Identification charges. Fake identification cards are often used for activities such as minors purchasing alcohol or entry into clubs or bars. These charges are called False Identification and almost always require a Criminal Defense. Although these activities may seem harmless and as if they do not affect others, carrying a fake ID is a very serious offense. A person commits carrying a false identification card if he, being under 21 years of age, possesses an identification card falsely identifying that person by name, age, date of birth or photograph as being 21 years of age or older or obtains or attempts to obtain liquor aggravated assault while DUI or malt or brewed beverages by using the identification card of another or by using an identification card that has not been lawfully issued to or in the name of that person who possesses the card. There are a few different elements that will affect the sentence you receive.
Carrying a false identification card is a serious offense that carries harsh penalties in Pennsylvania. If you commit carrying a false identification card and it is your first offense, you are committing a summary offense. If found guilty, you may face up to 90 days imprisonment and/or fines up to $300. Any subsequent violation is a misdemeanor of the third degree. If found guilty, you face a potential penalty of up to one year imprisonment and/or fines up to $2,000. In addition to any other penalty imposed, a person who is found guilty of carrying a false identification card shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not more than $500 for the second and subsequent violations. In addition to any other disposition authorized by law, a person adjudicated delinquent under this statute may be ordered to pay a fine of not more than $500 for an adjudication of delinquency. If you are charged with carrying a institutional vandalism false identification card, the court may admit you to the adjudication alternative as authorized in 42 Pa.C.S. Section 1520 or any other preadjudication disposition if you have not previously received a prejudication disposition for violating this statute. If you or someone you know has been charged with carrying a false identification card, it is important to contact a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. A criminal defense attorney will be able to assess the facts of your case and determine the best course of action to take.